Hamilton Dominates Eventful Start to the F1 Season Down Under

17 03 2008

As the saying goes – Talk is cheap, and no amount of talk about the upcoming season could we prepared for a long afternoon in Melbourne, which saw Lewis Hamilton lead from start to finish to take the checkered flag BMW Sauber front of Nick Heidfeld and Williams’ Nico Rosberg. Like the young Brit stayed in front of the pack, it was behind him all the actions which saw only seven drivers finish the race.
After a short career as a 18 race, Hamilton hailed his victory as “the best win yet”, which saw the safety car deployed 3 times. “Coming into a new season, turning a new page, we really wanted to get off on the right foot, “he said after the race.

Read more(foto)!!!
With Heikki Kovalainen come to the 5th, Mclaren can be quite satisfied with their work weekends, but things did not go as smoothly for their championship rivals Ferrari who had a disastrous run which saw both drivers unable to finish. Massa retired on Lap 26 after a collision with a non-too-pleased and Coulthard just three laps from the end Raikkonen suffered engine failure. However, the world champion showed his class from the 15th to eighth on the first corner, and may even have been difficult for the leadership of Hamilton if he had not spun off the track twice. Despite all this, he managed to get a world championship for 8th place after Barrichello was disqualified for illegally leaving the pit lane.


Australian Grand Prix, 2008

Next week, F1 Circus heads for Malaysia.
Ranking of the race Australian Grand Prix at Albert Park in Melbourne on Sunday:

1. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) McLaren 1:34:50.616
2. Nick Heidfeld (Germany) BMW Sauber +00:05.478
3. Nico Rosberg (Germany) Williams – Toyota 00:08.163
4. Fernando Alonso (Spain) Renault 00:17.181
5. Heikki Kovalainen (Finland) McLaren 00:18.014
6. Kazuki Nakajima (Japan) Williams – Toyota 1 lap
7r. Sebastien Bourdais (France), Toro Rosso – Ferrari 3 laps
8r. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) 5 laps Ferrari
r. Robert Kubica (Poland) BMW Sauber 11 laps
r. Timo Glock (Germany) Toyota 15 laps
r. Takuma Sato (Japan) Super Aguri – Honda 26 laps
r. Nelsinho Piquet (Brazil), Renault 28 laps
r. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Ferrari 29 laps
r. David Coulthard (Britain) RedBull – Renault 33 laps
r. Jarno Trulli (Italy) 39 laps Toyota
r. Adrian Sutil (Germany) Force of India – Ferrari 50 laps
r. Mark Webber (Australia) RedBull – Renault 56 laps
r. Jenson Button (Britain) Honda 57 laps
r. Anthony Davidson (Britain) Super Aguri – Honda 57 laps
r. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Toro Rosso – Ferrari 58 laps
r. Giancarlo Fisichella (Italy) Force of India – Ferrari 58 laps
DSQ Rubens Barrichello (Brazil) Honda +00:52.453

(Rank: r = retired, nc = not classified)

formula1_3.jpg formula1_4.jpg formula1_5.jpg
Source: SkySports




One response

17 10 2008


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: